Monday, December 15, 2008

Battlestar Galactica

I'm not so convinced that Laura Roslin as written is broken. I do think in our current metagame she is overpowered but there are plenty of ways to weaken her. I also believe if our metagame changed Tom Zarek wouldn't be the waste of paper Dennis is so angry about.

1. Nobody can argue that she is efficient as president, so early game at a convenient opportunity, require her to pass the presidency to another player. This could happen with some skill checks, martial law, or an election. I dislike martial law, because again I think that would push the metagame towards overpowering the start admiral.

A new president would distribute power more evenly and allow optimal use of the president's office. Tom Zarek is actually an excellent choice for the new president and his administration ability is useful for making the transition as painless as possible. Not only that, but President Zarek essentially has no drawback anymore if he sticks to the President's Office. He can trade executive orders with a trusted player to make the presidency even stronger.

2. Bypass her drawback by having her play executive orders on her turn if she has them. Failing that, she can scout (with tactics drawn from consolidate power). Failing that, she can consolidate power to draw tactics cards. In a pinch, she could even consolidate to draw repair cards as repairing won't activate her drawback. The description of her as useless without the presidency is not accurate at all and I suspect she would be more useful in a support role when freed up to play executive orders.

3 Comments:

At 6:29 PM, December 15, 2008, Blogger Schifani said...

Your opinion is dust in the wind. I wonder if your milk carton picture will be bearded or not?

 
At 7:12 PM, December 15, 2008, Blogger Rob said...

He can trade executive orders with a trusted player to make the presidency even stronger

If you mean what I think you mean, then you can't do it according to the FAQ at FFG.com.

 
At 8:23 PM, December 15, 2008, Blogger Michael said...

Not on the same turn.

But if I executive orders you on my turn, and you executive orders me on your turn, we gain one action each at the cost of two (low valued) cards.

 

Post a Comment

<< Home